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UNDERSTANDING PROPOSAL A

What is my property
worth as of December 31,
2020?

On March 15, 1994
Michigan voters approved
the constitutional
amendment known as
Proposal A.

Proposal A was designed
to limit the increase in
property taxes by the
Consumer Price Index
(CPI) until ownership of
the property is
transferred.

How it Works

Prior to Proposal A
property taxes were
based upon State
Equalized Value (SEV).
With the implementation
of Proposal A, taxes are
now based upon the
Taxable Value.

Each year the Assessing
Department must
calculate the SEV for
every property based
upon the time frame as
outlined by the State Tax
Commission. A
property’s status is
determined as of
December 31, which is
called Tax Day.

Additionally, each
property has a Capped
Value. Capped Value is
calculated by multiplying
the prior year’s Taxable
Value, with adjustments

for additions and losses,
by the CPI as calculated
by the State of Michigan
and cannot increase by
more than 5%.

For 2021, The CPI has
been calculated at 1.40%.

Taxable Value (TV),
which property taxes are
based on, is defined as
the lower of either the
(SEV) or capped value
(CV).

The Equalization
Timetable

The Macomb County
Equalization Department
has worked with Center
Line in conducting a 24
month sales study to
determine values for the
2021 assessment cycle.

For all 2021 assessments
the 24 month sales study
begins April 1, 2018 and
ends March 31, 2020.

SEV

50% of true cash value

Capped Value (CV)
(Prior TV - losses) x (1 +
CPI*) — additions
*percent of change in the rate
of inflation or 5%, whichever is
less, expressed as a multiplier.

Taxable Value

The lesser of SEV or CV,
unless thereis a
transfer of ownership
or new value.

Use of a 24 month study
allows 2021 assessments
to more accurately reflect
current market
conditions. The number
of current sales means
that some areas of the
Township may have
limited data for the
Assessor to calculate
current assessments. It
may be necessary for the
Assessor to expand areas
for reviewing
neighborhood analysis or
estimating market
changes based upon area
trends.

True Cash Value.

The law defines True
Cash Value as the usual
selling price of a
property. The
Legislature and Courts
have very clearly stated
that the actual selling
price of a property is not
a controlling factor in the
True Cash Value or SEV
as calculated by the
Assessor. For this reason
when analyzing sales for
the purpose of
determining assessment
changes, the Assessing
Office will review all
sales, but exclude non
representative sales from
the assessment analysis.
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Foreclosure Sales

Inherent in the definition of
usual selling price is the
assumption that the sale
does not involve any element
of distress from either party.

The State Tax Commission
recently issued guidelines
concerning foreclosure sales
and generally speaking
these guidelines allow the
Assessor to consider
foreclosure sales when
calculating values for
assessment purposes if these
sales have been verified.

What this covers:

Proposal A Pgl

Actual Sale Price is NOT True
Cash Value Pg1l

Equalization Timetable  Pg1
Foreclosure Sales Pg1l

Transfer of ownership and
Uncapping Pg 2

Principal Residence
Exemptions Pg 2

Annual Inspections Pg 2
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Transfer of Ownership
And Uncapping of
Taxable Values

According to Proposal A,
when a property (or
interest in a property) is
transferred, the following
year’s Taxable Value
becomes that year’s SEV.
In other words, if you
purchased a property in
2020 the Taxable Value
for 2021 will be the same
as the 2021 SEV. The
Taxable Value will then
be “capped” again in the
second year following the
transfer of ownership.

It is the responsibility of
the buyer in a transfer to
file a Property Transfer
Affidavit with the
Assessor’s Office within
45 days of the transfer.
Failure to file a Property
Transfer Affidavit may
result in a penalty of $5
per day for each day after
the 45 day period with a
maximum penalty of
$200. Property Transfer
Affidavit forms are
available at the
Township Office.

Again, it is important to
note that a property does
not uncap to the selling
price, but to the SEV in
the year following the
transfer of ownership.

Principal Residence
Exemption (PRE)

If you own and occupy
your home as a principal
residence, it may be
exempt from a portion of
local school operating
taxes. You may check
your percentage of
principal residence
exemption on your
“Notice of Assessment” or
tax bill.

If you wish to claim an
exemption for the current
year, a Principal
Residence Exemption
Affidavit must be
completed and filed with
the Assessor’s office by
June 1, for summer
collection of school tax or
Nov 1, for winter school
tax collection.

Furthermore, if you
currently have a PRE on
your property and you no
longer own and occupy
the property as your
primary residence, you
must rescind the PRE
with the Assessor’s
Office.

Forms to claim a new
exemption or to rescind a
current exemption are
available at the
Assessing Department.

Michigan home owners
who have had a PRE on
their home and then
moved to another
Michigan principal
residence, may qualify for
a Conditional PRE. The
Conditional PRE can be
filed at the Assessor’s
office as long as you still
own the home. The home
must have had a PRE
prior to your move, must
be for sale (and vacant),
and the home cannot be
rented or leased.

So what does it all
mean?

How can I expect my
assessment to change in
20217

As stated in the
Equalization Timetable,
for 2021 the time period
of the sales study for
assessment review is
October 1, 2019 thru
September 30, 2020.
Sales occurring after
October 1, 2020 will
typically not be
considered in the studies
until the 2022
assessment cycle.

Annual Inspections

Due to recent State Tax
Commission policy update, it
is expected that local units of
government will annually
field visit a minimum of 20%
of the parcels in each
property class each year.
The expectation is that all
parcels will be examined at
least once over a five year
period. Any time our staff is
performing a field visit at a
property, they will be
wearing proper
identification. If you have
any questions, please feel
free to call our office at 586-
757-6800.

When there is an increase in
assessed value, this may be
due to several factors. These
factors include but are not
limited to: sales in the
general area or
neighborhood, classification
of the building, new value
added to the assessment roll
which was not previously
assessed. This may also
include items that have been
on the property for years but
never assessed.

If there was a decrease to
the assessed value this may
be due to: sales in the
general area or
neighborhood, classification
of the building, demolition or
loss of previously assessed
property.

Remember the taxable value
typically will increase by the
Consumer Price Index
(1.40% for 2021) plus any
new value that was added to
the assessment roll.

If you have questions about your Assessment or the Board of Review process, we are available during regular office hours, Monday—Friday, 8:30am — 5:00pm.
Please visit our website at www.centerline.gov for property information.
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